However, as steam ships became
more important than sail, and as peace came, activity at the Dockyard waned and by 1906 it had been handed over to the colonial government.
the Dockyard's Copper and Lumber Store lay forgotten and neglected, overgrown by lush vegetation, silent in the long, hot days, steeped in the rich naval history of an age which had passed on.
It was the realisation of the history which lay locked in the ruins which encouraged the beginning of restoration work in 1950 and by 1978 the ancient Store had been partially restored and converted into self catering apartments.
The process of authentic restoration and conversion of the property into a Georgian Inn was begun in 1982 and continued through 1988 with the creation of a top quality courtyard restaurant, the ''Wardroom"",
the development of an English Pub ''the Mainbrace'' and the further refurbishment of intimate lounge area and shaded outdoor patios.
Today the hotel is a luxurious blend of gracious living and fascinating naval history. The hotel consists of 14 suites or studios, each named after one of Lord Nelson's ships. All are superbly furnished in period furniture and fittings and provide the opportunity to enjoy a self catering Antiguan vacation experience with the option to dine in the many wonderful bars and restaurants within walking distance.
Beaches are nearby and can be accessed via the harbour ferry or by taxi., , Dive programs features the traditional Caribbean underwater attractions plus the added feature of some historical artifacts left by the ships of Nelson's Leeward Islands fleet., , Special dive packages are offered., Charter sailinfg and combination sail/ stay vacations are offered by Antigua Charter Services who are located within Nelson's Dockyard.,
Copper and Lumber Store Hotel
Copper and Lumber Store Hotel ID: 118034